Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Alvin Cutting Mat- Yay/Nay?? >

Alvin Cutting Mat- Yay/Nay??

Alvin Cutting Mat- Yay/Nay??

Old 12-11-2021, 02:03 PM

Question Alvin Cutting Mat- Yay/Nay??

I am in need of a new cutting mat that is truly self healing, durable and most importantly for me... NO ODOR
This is the brand that comes highly rated and meets my needs.

Alvin, GBM Series Professional Self-Healing Cutting Mat.
Thank you sew much for your thoughts

Last edited by Divokittysmom; 12-11-2021 at 02:18 PM.
Old 12-11-2021, 06:48 PM

That is what I've been using for several years now. I know it's been over three years - but it could be as long as five. I may have rotated it once, but I know I've not flipped it yet (that way I get four surfaces out of a mat before I have to toss it). It's held up way better than the one I had before, I think that one was a Fiskers, but it's been so long ago, I don't remember. I didn't expect it to be as great as it is, and had bought a Martinelli when they were on sale a few years ago, and it's still sitting under the Alvin mat. I've heard some horror stories of mats getting ruined when under another mat, but so far the Martinelli has not suffered from being under the Alvin mat.

The Alvin mat is 3'x4', the Martinelli is slightly longer.

Don't recall if smell was an issue when it first arrived, however I get migraines triggered by smells so I'm very particular about that - so if it smelled I would have left it in the garage for a while, and it's been so long I don't recall if I had to do that or not. I'm pretty sure it also shipped flat too.

Last edited by Macybaby; 12-11-2021 at 06:51 PM.
Old 12-11-2021, 07:47 PM
Power Poster