Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Flying Geese not flying! >

Flying Geese not flying!

Flying Geese not flying!

Old 02-03-2022, 12:10 PM

Unhappy Flying Geese not flying!

Hello Everyone -
I am still having a heck of a time squaring up my Flying Geese blocks. I find myself not making any blocks/quilts that have them included (
What ruler would be the best for me to buy? I have several small square rulers and a large rectangle. I am self taught following retirement and have been fairly successful with some basic squares. I have completed 9 quilts since "Covid" hit and am starting a throw that is houses. Of course, it has Flying Geese!!!
Thanks in advance for any and all input!
Old 02-03-2022, 12:49 PM

I had never made flying geese until I got the accuquilt go cutter and flying geese came with it when I bought it. They came out good for me. I am sorry I can not help Good luck and don't give up.
Old 02-03-2022, 01:12 PM

I love the rulers from Eleanor Burns, Quilt in a Day. I have the best luck with these and have made many geese. I think Joanne’s carries them. Welcome to the board
Old 02-03-2022, 02:07 PM

Flying geese were my nemesis too. I make them slightly bigger and then cut them to size. I use the Bloc-Loc flying geese ruler, and I have also used the Eleanor Burns ruler successfully.
Old 02-04-2022, 04:48 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Michigan!
Old 02-04-2022, 05:41 AM

Welcome aboard -- you didn't mention what techniques you are using for the Geese units. There are many ways to do it. Here's a (long) video that explains some of the options.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJT26kylpMQ

In general, I do a cut/sew large and trim down technique which can be a bit hard to explain -- typically with Geese it means I have my large triangle sized correctly and that the two smaller side ones are a bit larger than designed.