Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do you need to accurately cut  Foundation Piecing >

Do you need to accurately cut Foundation Piecing

Do you need to accurately cut Foundation Piecing

Old 02-19-2023, 02:07 PM

Default Do you need to accurately cut Foundation Piecing

Hi there,

I'm just beginning Foundation Piecing. Is it necessary to accurately cut the fabric to start with if you are going to end up sewing different shapes. Foe example, if I need a 3 1/4 x 1 1/4 piece, is it ok, let's say if I make a mistake and I cut
3 1/2 by 1 1/2, is this a big deal? Sorry for dumb questions.
Old 02-19-2023, 02:09 PM

Do you mean paper piecing?
If so, it doesn't matter, you will just need to trim the excess from the back at 1/4" after you've sewn it.

Watson
Old 02-19-2023, 02:39 PM

Originally Posted by Watson View Post
Do you mean paper piecing?
If so, it doesn't matter, you will just need to trim the excess from the back at 1/4" after you've sewn it.

Watson
Yes, Watson, paper piecing by machine sewing. Thank you so much for your answer! I just bought a course by Carol Doak, Mastering Foundation Piecing. And I was wondering how exact I had to be at cutting fabric as the first step. This is why I'm learning foundation piecing as I am not good at cutting accurately or having that perfect straight 1/4 inch seam line.

Dolly
Old 02-19-2023, 02:52 PM
mkc

Originally Posted by onestrokeartist View Post
Hi there,

I'm just beginning Foundation Piecing. Is it necessary to accurately cut the fabric to start with if you are going to end up sewing different shapes. Foe example, if I need a 3 1/4 x 1 1/4 piece, is it ok, let's say if I make a mistake and I cut
3 1/2 by 1 1/2, is this a big deal?