Newbie in KY

Old 03-31-2007, 12:39 PM

Hi, I'm new to the chat room and new to quilting. I have four quilts started. I did just finish the strips for a pioneer braid quilt and was wondering if someone could help me with the"quilt as you go" method. I want to "stitch the ditch" for the pioneer braid as it is in rows. Do I leave an overhang of my backing for when I whip stitich it together or is there natural overhang as one goes along the process? I love viewing others finished quilts and sharing of ideas, helps and hints. I need all the help I can get.

Have a great day,
Hilda
Old 03-31-2007, 01:44 PM

Welcome Hilda!
Unfortunately, I can't help you with the quilt-as-you-go question...I never did put mine together :oops:
But I wanted to say Hi & I'm sure someone will be able to answer it.

sue
Old 03-31-2007, 03:15 PM

Hi Hilda,
Welcome! I have a lot of extended family in KY. They love it.

Sorry not to be able to help with the 'quilt as you go" I've not done that. I normally do the whole top, then sandwich, and then quilt. But don't give up on an answer, someone will be along in no time to help.

Sharon
Old 03-31-2007, 03:30 PM

Originally Posted by Hilda Studer
Hi, I'm new to the chat room and new to quilting. I have four quilts started. I did just finish the strips for a pioneer braid quilt and was wondering if someone could help me with the"quilt as you go" method. I want to "stitch the ditch" for the pioneer braid as it is in rows. Do I leave an overhang of my backing for when I whip stitich it together or is there natural overhang as one goes along the process? I love viewing others finished quilts and sharing of ideas, helps and hints. I need all the help I can get.

Have a great day,
Hilda
Hilda you do leave a over hang but I don't know how much to tell you. It is up to how much you want in the binding. That was what you are using it for arnt you?
Misty
Old 03-31-2007, 03:32 PM