Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Guidance Needed |  ...my Singer vintage electric Sewing Machine >

Guidance Needed | ...my Singer vintage electric Sewing Machine

Guidance Needed | ...my Singer vintage electric Sewing Machine

Old 09-24-2018, 05:23 PM

Default Guidance Needed | ...my Singer vintage electric Sewing Machine

Hi BQ members! I am in need of your guidance...

I'm new to this forum. In fact, I joined so I can start to learn about my Singer machine that I've been storing away for many years. It's time to start sewing!

I've posted up some pics here of my Singer. It's really a beautiful machine and it works very well. Super quiet and smooth...

Can someone confirm some of the following for me?
--Model Number? Manual (see pic) says 15-91
--Approx. age/year built?

I don't know if this is a good beginner machine for my lady, or if I should be giving her a different machine to use?

Thank you in advance for your help in advance,

Warm regards,

-Adam

Old 09-26-2018, 05:07 AM

Hi
Congratulations on joining. I am a new member too.

The machine in the photographs is a 15-91 so congratulations you have a very good sewing machine and you have the original instructions for using it.

Using online resources I would suggest that your machine was built in 1935. Bear in mind that however good your machine was or is she is now over 80 years old. That shouldn't mean too much to the cast iron and polished steel parts but the rubber insulation on the wiring is likely to have suffered from age and may make the machine unsafe to use. Please have the wiring, motor, light and controller checked for safety before you start using this machine and do follow the cleaning, oiling and greasing instructions.