Help! Pleeeease?!

Old 03-25-2013, 07:32 PM

Unhappy Help! Pleeeease?!

I haven't been here in forever and wow has this place changed! I'm new to Vintage machines and my affinity is for the models made in the 50s. But on to my cry for help ...

I have a Lenco 414 straight stitch, made in Japan (I think this thing is solid cast iron?! WOW!) and since my mother (she was from Japan) is no longer with us (sadly, the machine is not from her but a craigslist purchase) I can't ask her how to thread it. I thought I had it but there is a part at the top towards the front of the machine (left side) and it has a little lever at the bottom of it that if I press it it pops up. However, I tried wrapping the thread around this heavily grooved vertical "post" and the thread would not move, so assumed it was not to be threaded through, yet when I try to sew, nothing happens so I'm missing something.

Let me know if you need pics. I can't find anything on the internet anywhere to help me so I appeal to the experts. Mahalo a nui loa for any kokua (thank you very much for any help)

*HUGS* and Alohas,
Bridgette
^.^
Old 03-25-2013, 08:58 PM

Id need to see a picture! Its not an auto threader? Thats what i have?
Old 03-26-2013, 02:23 AM
Power Poster

I need to see some pics.
Old 03-26-2013, 07:33 AM

*DOH*! I guess pics would help! LOL! I was up til almost 3 a.m. trying to figure this out and I think I have. The post at the top that had me baffled has to do with needle tension, being a Quilter, I LIKE THAT! I still haven't figured out how to thread the part that is part of the needle arm, has a hole in it and is directly below the thread feeder (the part that goes up and down and sticks out of the front of the machine). Now to figure out how to attach pics *rolling eyes at self*
Old 03-26-2013, 07:38 AM

HA! Yah, no clue (on how to attach pics) ... no icons for me to click on that I can find and I have forgotten how, haven't posted here in so long. Do I copy/paste links or something?