Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
How Much is my Sewing Machine Worth in Your Opinion >

How Much is my Sewing Machine Worth in Your Opinion

How Much is my Sewing Machine Worth in Your Opinion

Old 12-20-2013, 11:29 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default How Much is my Sewing Machine Worth in Your Opinion

This is my newest ebay purchase, a Davis Model N badged Capitol. I figure it's worth not much and I didn't pay much. I thought the notch in the handwheel pulley for a hand crank was interesting. Unfortunately this machine uses a special shuttle for 3/4 size Davis machines and the one that came with it is wore out. No Boye replacement available.
Attached Thumbnails 122013-004.jpg   122013-005.jpg   122013-006.jpg  
jlhmnj is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:10 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8,092
Default

Jon,

How much is "that" machine worth? Well, IMHO about $15.00 max. At least that's as high as I'd go to buy it.

That is an interesting little machine. Had I bought it I'd clean in up and make it look as good as it could then hunt up a new(er) shuttle. Somebodies gotta have one.

Joe
J Miller is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:34 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Joe,

I paid $25 with shipping. Hard for me to refrain from bidding on these orphan Davis machines that go cheap and no one wants. Some machines I buy for myself and some I buy to resell to buy machines for myself. This ones for myself as I'd have a tough time getting my freight back even if she was working, cleaned up, and respectable looking.

Jon
jlhmnj is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:45 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Centralia, WA, USA
Posts: 4,890
Default

That's about the range I'd go too. Around $20 max. I don't have a clue about the relative scarcity of Davis machines though. Decals are worn out and it's missing the slide plate. Also machines without the case or cabinet have a higher pain factor than complete ones. The worn out shuttle I wouldn't have a clue about until I got it home and even then I would struggle figuring out the problem. It is a neat looking machine though. I do like the style of the older machines.
Rodney

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-01-2014 at 03:13 AM. Reason: language
Rodney is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:55 PM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Rodney,

This machine is extremely rare, I've never seen another "Capitol" for sale on the internet so it's worth big bucks.

I hear this argument quite a bit. John Doe could buy 5 Davis machines and have stencilled what ever he wanted on the arm.
jlhmnj is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 02:37 PM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Here's a Davis "Knickerbacker",the same model as my "Capital", that has surprisingly failed to sell on ebay for a week or two for $29:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/231119520471...84.m1438.l2649

CT must be a tough state to sell old machines

Jon
jlhmnj is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 02:53 PM
  #7  
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: San Lorenzo, CA
Posts: 5,361
Default

FYI - I believe you will find that the face plate is on upside down.

Interestng. it is a Davis but not a VF. cool.
SteveH is offline  
Old 12-20-2013, 03:49 PM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Originally Posted by SteveH View Post
FYI - I believe you will find that the face plate is on upside down.

Interestng. it is a Davis but not a VF. cool.
The face plate is OK, though the top screw is wrong. I think other makers have the take up lower on the face like New Home. Davis Underfeeds are rarely marked Davis so you have to know certain Davis features, just like bird ID in the field.

Jon
jlhmnj is offline  
Old 12-21-2013, 03:55 AM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 15,510
Default

Originally Posted by jlhmnj View Post
The face plate is OK, though the top screw is wrong. I think other makers have the take up lower on the face like New Home. Davis Underfeeds are rarely marked Davis so you have to know certain Davis features, just like bird ID in the field.

Jon
Jon, could you post a picture of that bird so we all know what you mean?
miriam is offline  
Old 12-21-2013, 07:07 AM
  #10  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millville, NJ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Originally Posted by miriam View Post
Jon, could you post a picture of that bird so we all know what you mean?
http://www.learnnc.org/lp/pages/646

Sure, IDing birds and sewing machines have much in common except binoculars arn't needed for sewing machines.

Last edited by jlhmnj; 12-21-2013 at 07:14 AM.
jlhmnj is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
misschrisfrmtx
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
8
10-27-2012 02:21 PM
ralphu
Main
19
12-08-2011 04:55 PM
jbj137
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
9
07-29-2011 08:11 AM
tellabella
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
2
05-05-2011 08:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.