I think I'm in love!

Old 08-17-2013, 04:13 PM

Default I think I'm in love!

I'm giving this machine a test run. I've never tried to FMQ with one before. I did all the piecing on the machine, it sure does feed nice.

After getting the block together, I put on the aftermarket foot (from April 1930) and gave it a whirl. Please forgive my poor skills, I've done very little FMQ. I have rayon thread on top, and should mess with the tension a bit more. I wanted to see how the machine would handle something different.

It's pretty neat, you can have the pedal full speed and keep up with it quite well. Wish I'd had one of these when I was doing the lap quilt for my Mom, it's working out way better than my main machine did. But to be fair, I didn't have a foot like this either.

I'm glad I've got another 15-91 and a 15-90 to keep, or I may not want to give this one up!
Old 08-17-2013, 04:29 PM

Why in this world would you give it up? You like it don't you? Keep it.
Old 08-17-2013, 04:31 PM

Oh, I would keep the 15. I have two and love them both! Great for FM, I piece on one and FM on the other one!
Old 08-17-2013, 05:33 PM

This one was destine for a new home before DH fixed it up. I like to give them a good shake down before they leave. I ended up with a few extra 15's as they were the most common machine in the cabinets I was collecting. DH and I have no intention to keep fixing up machines other than to find homes for the ones we don't intend to keep. I have 20 different Singer cabinets, and there is one more I'm looking for.

The person interested in this machine is interested in FMQ - so I wanted to see how it would perform in that function- I had to quit for the night - I'm getting tired and making mistakes. It's good practice for me too.
Old 08-18-2013, 06:12 AM
Power Poster

Awesome!!!!!
Old 08-18-2013, 08:18 AM