Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Ok need some help with this one..... >

Ok need some help with this one.....

Ok need some help with this one.....

Old 06-14-2013, 07:50 AM

Default Ok need some help with this one.....

Was at an estate sale to day and found this little treasure.... it was just too cute to pass up... I believe it is a 24 series.. but it has a motor not a hand crank... she really is in nice shape... started to freak out when I didn't see a bobbin but from what I found so far it may be a "single chain stich".... Down side is the power cord is crumbling and there is no peddle.... Anyone have any thoughts or info you may be able to share? Thanks much, Gretchen
Attached Thumbnails 002.jpg   001.jpg  
Old 06-14-2013, 08:23 AM

I have no knowledge to share but it certainly is a treasure! Congratulations on your find. It would have come home with me too.
Old 06-14-2013, 08:26 AM

Location: Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs, Duluth, St Paul, Soudan

This might give you some help. Looks like you have an electric 24-62 that have already had a new power cord at least once. it uses a knee control that fits into the hole is the front of the case--no foot pedal. That is a beautiful machine. Definitely a rewire job.
http://www.sewalot.com/singer%2024.htm
Old 06-14-2013, 08:39 AM
Banned

I really love the painted work area on these 24's. They are great little machines and worth a bit in fully operational state
Old 06-15-2013, 07:03 AM

She is a real beauty-- The only advice I can help with is Talk to you favorite clerk at your favorite fabric store and she can give you a name and phone number of a repairman who loves and specializes in our favorite old Singers. No matter what state or city I've ever lived in this has always been my way of finding the right person to fix my machines and find any parts I may need.
Old 06-15-2013, 07:19 AM

Gretchen,