Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   1948 Domestic Rotary Electric Sewing Machine Series 153 (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/1948-domestic-rotary-electric-sewing-machine-series-153-a-t310576.html)

KatSan1218 04-14-2020 06:20 PM

1948 Domestic Rotary Electric Sewing Machine Series 153

5 Attachment(s)
Hi all. I'm new to this page. Thanks for letting me join.

I was hoping to be able to help out a family member. She currently has this sewing machine in her home and has had it for years but doesn't need it. Comes with the manual and certificate of authenticity.

She lives in Beloit, WI. I've attached a few pics.

Does anyone know where we might be able to post it or list it for sale? I'd appreciate any leads or resources? Thanks so much.

Kathy

WIChix 04-15-2020 12:49 AM

Facebook and Craigslist Marketplace come to mind. Letgo, OfferUp.

leonf 04-15-2020 07:36 AM

Under the handwheel is a serial #. Does it start with MG?

KatSan1218 04-15-2020 03:44 PM

3 Attachment(s)
I just asked her and she says she doesn't see any numbers on it. But she has pic of the manual and certificate of authenticity. She sent me pics of both.

KatSan1218 04-16-2020 09:56 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Okay so she sent me another pic this morning. I asked her for closer ups. She saw an MG. What does MG mean? Here is a pic of it.

leonf 04-16-2020 10:16 AM

That's what I was hoping you might find. Your machine is cast magnesium and not cast iron. It makes it just a bit lighter to carry.

Unfortunately Domestics and Whites don't have the fan base that Singers do. Most folks on this board don't know about the magnesium. If I were looking for one I may pay $5.00 more for the MG. I already have one though and don't really use it.

KatSan1218 04-16-2020 10:44 AM