Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   ?? About Featherweights (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/about-featherweights-t116196.html)

TrenaM 04-14-2011 07:37 PM

I am new to quilting and am wondering why everyone seems to want to have a featherweight. Thanks in advance.

Quiltbeagle 04-14-2011 07:47 PM

They're just wonderful little machines with a really nice straight stitch, dependable and easy to maintain. They're portable and just CUTE! Mine is over 50 years old and will most likely still be going strong when my computerized machines are all in the landfill.

tomilu 04-14-2011 07:47 PM

They are lightweight, easy to carry to classes and retreats since they are so light. They have a great stitch and they are also the fad, lol.

alaskasunshine 04-14-2011 07:55 PM

They are wonderful,smooth,adorable,perfect stitches and super duper adorable. OOPS I already told you they were adorable. I have several and they are all different. One day I am hoping for a 1957. Have you ever sewn on one?

My first featherweight was a 1934 and I was hooked. It really is so hard to explain but they are such a loved machine. Check on Craig's list for them. I usually get mine from ebay and they kill us on shipping here. Hope you experience one and then you'll know why somany people love them! Then post pix of yours so we can all ooohhhh and aaahhhh :shock: :thumbup:

writerwomen 04-14-2011 08:54 PM

From someone who works on Vintage machines I can tell you two sides to the coin.
People buy featherweights because they are cute and because everyone has oneare two reasons. They're compact which is nice for storage and transport weighing approx 11 lbs without the case.