Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Bought my 1st Featherweight,... long awaited!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/bought-my-1st-featherweight-long-awaited-t262176.html)

Divokittysmom 03-05-2015 12:05 PM

Bought my 1st Featherweight,... long awaited!!

I purchased my first Singer Featherweight and I am ECSTATIC!! :thumbup: I have been ogling them for 5 years!! I finally took the plunge on a real beauty, 1937 in gorgeous condition, runs beautifully. I am so excited I can hardly stand it! :D

Now to the less than happy part... I purchased it on eBay from a seller with a 100% seller rating and zero negative reviews who has sold for 15 years on eBay. :thumbup: I had to prompt this seller to ship the machine out at the end of the 2nd day after purchase... response was we'll mail it out tomorrow. Then nothing from the seller saying it had been shipped, however tracking # shows it's still in the same Post Office he mailed it out of for 3 days now. I called the P.O. and confirmed it is indeed still sitting there. I have contacted the seller this morning to ask if there would be any reason for it to be sitting there and why he insured it for less than what I paid. :thumbdown::thumbdown::thumbdown:
Has anyone run onto this before on eBay?? Is it routine to insure things for much less than buyer paid? The shipping chosen says it's the worst way to ship things, lots of bumping around...I am praying by the time I get my beloved FW it will be in one piece!! I am sure you all think I am being paranoid, however, I have never purchased anything like this $$$ before and am nervous that I made a huge mistake!!
Thank you all for letting me rant a bit. I am only hoping and praying that my FW .#1 actually arrives and #2, is in one piece and the excellent condition claimed!!