Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Can't loosen the screws (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/cant-loosen-screws-t215716.html)

ArizonaKAT 03-07-2013 07:49 AM

Can't loosen the screws

I finally found time to take my 201 apart and do a clean up on her but of course I have two stubborn screws that won't budge. Can someone tell me how I can get them to turn?

KAT

vanginney 03-07-2013 08:17 AM

Originally Posted by ArizonaKAT (Post 5911350)
I finally found time to take my 201 apart and do a clean up on her but of course I have two stubborn screws that won't budge. Can someone tell me how I can get them to turn?

KAT

I am not an expert, and it depends where the screws are located. But I place a small drop of oil on the screw and let it sit. It usually helps it to turn.

Emma S 03-07-2013 08:20 AM

If you are trying to loosen them with a small screwdriver, try a larger one. Sometimes you just can't get the leverage.

Sierra 03-07-2013 08:22 AM

Use a bit of oil and then, while waiting for that to do it's thing, go to Harbor Freight and get their mini screw driver that has gears and several types of screw driver designs. It will work in any area down to an inch of space. I have bad arthritis in my hands and DH got this for me and, because of its design of gears I can use it! It cost less than $5. He used to take off my bobbin cover so I could put a drop of oil in, now I easily do it myself!

SteveH 03-07-2013 08:34 AM

I use a screwdriver that is as wide as the slot and I make sure it goes ALL the way to to the bottom of the slot
A little tapping might help. With the screw driver in the slot GENTLY tap the handle end with a hammer.
(This idea of this is to vibrate loose the rust/grime)
Liquid Wrench (easy to find) or Kroil (better but harder to find.)