Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Ever regret buying too many vintage machines?? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/ever-regret-buying-too-many-vintage-machines-t277845.html)

Ms Grace 04-17-2016 07:07 PM

Ever regret buying too many vintage machines??

Do any of you ever regret buying too many vintage machines?
I have 4 featherweights and 3 301's. (And 2 newer Juki's)
I think my OCD is acting up this week, I feel very overwhelmed with all these machines.
I think I need to sell a few of them.

Cari-in-Oly 04-17-2016 10:22 PM

I think I have a few regrets. I have around 60 machines. I've been buying vintage machines for over 6 years now, and am finally at a place where I know which machines make my heart sing and which ones don't. I've started re homing the ones that don't fit the parameters of my collection or that I have multiples of. I'm only going to keep my favorites, and the most valuable ones which are new machines(embroidery and a long arm).

Cari

Mickey2 04-18-2016 01:42 AM

No regrets so far. I don't have that many machines, and most of them get regular use. I would regret paying too much though, they aren't always easy to sell or find a new home for. At this point I have kept 5 machines, and I'm still interested in new discoveries.

Macybaby 04-18-2016 04:50 AM

Yes, because it's a pain finding people who will take them. I only have room for about 125 of them, and I don't like having them on the floor.

Though in truth, there are only a few I regret buying - most of them I had a good reason I bought them at the time (like they were part of a larger purchase, or came with a cabinet or accessories that made it a good deal). I just have more than I have space for.

Blackberry 04-18-2016 05:36 AM