Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Featherweight? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/featherweight-t284236.html)

CGS 12-05-2016 03:53 AM

Featherweight?

I am new to quilting and have a 1970s Bernini that my mother got for me when I was a kid. No problems with that, but I have been interested in buying an old vintage machine for just straight stitching. I've heard a little about the Featherweights and looked at a few online but I don't know what to look for. There is so much difference in prices! I could be so easily taken! I guess what I'm asking is what should I be looking for? What should I be asking the seller? How much should I expect to spend for a decent one? Is there somewhere, besides Ebay and Craigslist, that I should be looking? Is there some other models that I should be looking for? HELP!

toverly 12-05-2016 04:39 AM

You've started the hunt and it sounds like you are exploring. After looking for several years, I finally found one that I thought was worth the price and jumped on it. They seem to be different prices in different areas. Personally, I don't trust the ebay prices. They are just too high to make sense to me. Just keep your eyes and ears open and let your sewing friends know you are looking for one. You just never know what will come your way.

bkay 12-05-2016 04:59 AM

Shopgoodwill.com is another good source for featherweights. Usually the price is determined by the visual condition of the machine, the color, the box and the accessories. Are the decals intact or worn off? Is the finish in good shape? White is more expensive than black. Is the case on good condition and does it have all the feet, buttonholer, etc. Does it have a manual? All of those items go into how much it will cost.

bkay

elnan 12-05-2016 05:41 AM