Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   How to determine value (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/how-determine-value-t272676.html)

txmerlin 11-25-2015 12:48 PM

How to determine value

I am new to sewing machines, but I seemed to have gotten hooked quick. After working on my wife's Singer, I started hunting for others to work on. That's when I started running in to trouble. I do not have the history with these machines to know when something is priced reasonably or if it is priced sentimentally. Singers are easy enough, I can look on eBay or CL, but when I run across a Morse or Free or one of the Japanese clones, I have no basis for what it is worth. I realize in the end, they are all only worth what I am willing to pay for them, but I want to be able to have a little left over for the next one.

Is there some centralized source for valuation, like a sewing machine NADA?

Thanks
Ken

KalamaQuilts 11-25-2015 02:10 PM

Read and read and read here Ken, you'll get a huge education in pricing and fixing up if needed.

"value" in anything is what the market will bear mostly. If you are willing to pay XXX dollars, that is what it's worth.
We get tons of threads here about picking up machines for next to nothing. That's great, I've been given my Singer 66 treadle, my 128 LaVincadora hand crank, and my lovely White Rotary blackside. Can't beat that price, but I was prepared to pay $100.00 for a good basic treadle. On the other hand I paid $300.00 each for my celery and black featherweights. Turns out I don't care much for Featherweights, so sold the celery and the other just sits under the table. :) That expense gripes me :)

Welcome to the board

jlhmnj 11-25-2015 02:47 PM