Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Just purchased three vintage machines (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/just-purchased-three-vintage-machines-t229912.html)

Sunflowerzz 09-10-2013 05:50 PM

Just purchased three vintage machines

3 Attachment(s)
I am really new at this and just purchased a White model 162 in baby blue, a Pfaff model #230 and a Elna Supermatic. I copied several great tutorials on how to clean them up and am anxious to get started. I have concerns for the Pfaff though because not only is it FILTHY but it is flaking something terrible. Probably a shiny new protective clear coat when it was new. The whole machine is flaking. If I rub it or move it there is a pile of flakes. I want to clean all of this stuff off. There is one area where the paint has rubbed off too. This machine is the worst of the three. They all need cosmetic help and a major going over but the Pfaff had the least care over the years I'am afraid. I only purchased the Pfaff because it was in a cabinet I liked. But after reading all I could I think it may become my favorite. Any help on how to go about cleaning the flakes would be greatly appreciated. :eek:

tessagin 09-10-2013 06:02 PM

If you want to get the flakes off, start with a stiff scrub brush and just lightly brush off the excess then try a little baking soda and some dish soap or just the baking soda. Rub lightly as you with a soft cloth or one of those micro fiber eraser. Showed it to DH and he thinks it's just clear coat. Just take your time with it.

Vridar 09-10-2013 06:12 PM

Your avatar had me and my wife excited until we realized it was an avatar. Cute!!!

Akweiland 09-10-2013 06:45 PM

Congrats on your purchases! I picked up three treadle heads in August and have not started cleaning them up yet!