Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Meet 'Charlee', a 1920 Singer 66-1 (Pic heavy) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/meet-charlee-1920-singer-66-1-pic-heavy-t177583.html)

Whigrose 01-30-2012 04:01 PM

Meet 'Charlee', a 1920 Singer 66-1 (Pic heavy)

3 Attachment(s)
Hello all,
I'm fairly new to the QB but have joined two swaps already-Monthy Quilt Block and Quilt for Quilters swap. I would like to comment on one thing that stands out to me -folks are very friendly and willing to help out the new-comers, either that, you all have a blast watching us 'new kids' with our learning curves <bg>.

Dh and I love to haunt the local antique malls for a hobby. Last week we spied two machines that piqued my interest and I knew just where to go for information. Having been a visitor to the Vintage Machines forum, I knew who I wanted to turn to for guidance, someone knowledgable and fun. So I shot off an e-mail to Charlee asking if she would help me regarding evaluating the machines and reliable resources that I could learn from - and she did. Fast forward.

I made the decision to go for the 66-1. It called to me. DH goes to pick her up and I wait at home for what seems an eternity. When eventually he turns the corner to come up the drive I spy not one, but TWO machines in the bed of the p-up! Nope, you'll have to wait to find out what the other one is :-)