Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Motor Runs (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/motor-runs-t312261.html)

craftiladi 08-26-2020 08:32 AM

Motor Runs

1 Attachment(s)
But the needle bar doesn't go up & down. I am sure this is from someone before me using the bobbin winder. Good strong motor sound. I have oiled and played around wiggling the wheels back forth but not loosening. This is a little vintage singer straight stitch machine. I know on my older Kenmore you hold the outer wheel while with our other hand turn the inner wheel. Thanks for any advice you might be able to share.

bkay 08-26-2020 09:55 AM

I'm not an expert on machine repair, but that is how you fill a bobbin on a Singer, too. You hold the outer wheel and loosen (righty tighty, lefty loosey) the inner wheel. To change it back to sewing, you just tighten that inner wheel.

I'm pretty sure there is nothing major wrong (you can't kill an old Singer with a stick), probably just needs oiling or someone put something back in wrong.

Someone better able to help you with anything beyond the bobbin winder will be along soon.

bkay

leonf 08-26-2020 11:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
The silver knurled wheel must turn separately from the green balance wheel to just spin the bobbin.