Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   My "new" handcrank machine! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/my-new-handcrank-machine-t260969.html)

Sewnoma 02-08-2015 08:06 AM

My "new" handcrank machine!

6 Attachment(s)
Short backstory: My aunt is completely awesome, and upon discovering my fondness for old machines gifted me with an old Singer that she had bought to decorate her craft room years ago but no longer has room for it. I picked it up yesterday and just got it home this morning.

Here she is!
[ATTACH=CONFIG]509289[/ATTACH]

Serial is 15017915 - I looked it up on ISMACS and all it could tell me was 1899. I LOVE these decals, all those little curlicues look so elegant and they're pretty much intact.

I am still learning how to ID the model of these machines and was hoping to cheat with an ISMACS ID on that! I am pretty sure it's a 27 or a 28? I am really shaky on those models; I think the only real difference is the 28 is a 3/4 size version of the 27...is that right? I'll have to measure but I think she's on the smaller side, so my guess right now is that she's a 28.

This is my first "shuttle" bobbin machine so I'm a little afraid to play with it too much, but I'll get over that pretty quick. It's complete as far as I can tell, the bobbin shuttle is there and there's a bobbin in it and another on the winder; my aunt says she has a couple more of the bobbins in a display case and will get those to me, too.