Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Need Help Identifying Green Vintage "Dressmaker" Sewing Machine (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/need-help-identifying-green-vintage-dressmaker-sewing-machine-t248250.html)

tripletware 06-10-2014 06:46 PM

Need Help Identifying Green Vintage "Dressmaker" Sewing Machine

1 Attachment(s)
Hello all. I am fairly new to vintage machines. I saw this machine on Craig's List and couldn't pass up the color and all that wonderful metal. Does anyone recognize it? The two plates on the front say: Dressmaker and Model TAZ Deluxe Zig Zag Family Sewing Machine - Japan. The plate on the back above the serial number (127274) says model number SZ-230. There's a "case" at the top of the machine that looks a lot like it would hold the fancy stitch cams I've seen some vintage machines have on Ebay. I cannot find a manual.

Any Help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Katrina

mlmack 06-11-2014 04:27 AM

Deluxe Zig Zag Model TAZ or Model SZ-230 is what you want to search for.

I would look here for a manual of a similar machine:
http://www.sewusa.com/Sewing_Machine...g_Machines.htm

tripletware 06-11-2014 05:17 AM

Mark:

Thank you for the link but I've already searched there and at least a couple other sites. I've looked a lot online and found one other person had the same machine but hers says Universal instead of Dress Maker. Mine came in a nice cabinet that looks 50s/60s. It looks similar to the ones that are just straight stitch/zig zag but it has that odd compartment at the top that looks like a bobbin case but with a rod sticking up through the center. I thought maybe a compartment for cams, it's located where those usually are but the compartment has a see-through door instead of a metal cover.

Thank you,

Katrina