Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Pressure Foot problem- badged Japanese machine, new sewer, have pity! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/pressure-foot-problem-badged-japanese-machine-new-sewer-have-pity-t269796.html)

TheMountainsAreCalling 09-09-2015 07:24 AM

Pressure Foot problem- badged Japanese machine, new sewer, have pity!

2 Attachment(s)
This solution is probably so easy. I'm new to sewing, and just picked this machine up yesterday. I cleaned it this morning-- everything works and runs great. However, the needle impacts the presser foot. No accessories came with the machine, so I tried the presser foot off my Singer 15 clone, but same deal. Do I just need a different presser foot? Can I adjust the needle to the right? Here are some photos (the thread is threaded incorrectly from the shop, ignore that):[ATTACH=CONFIG]530258[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]530259[/ATTACH]

LilRedRocker 09-09-2015 08:12 AM

Mountains, I can't see how the foot is put on the machine, but I wonder if it is seated properly. The needle (even though it is centered) should be lined up with the groove/notch in the foot. The foot is a zipper/cording foot and the screw at the rear of the foot will unscrew a little bit to release the bar that the foot slides on, so you can slide the foot either to the right or left depending on which side of the zipper or cord you need to be to get close. Do you have other feet for your machine?

J Miller 09-09-2015 08:52 AM

I'd almost bet that's a left homing machine. Meaning that when set on straight stitch the needle sits to the left. Those take special left home SS presser feet available Sew-Classic and other places.