Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Should I Buy This? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/should-i-buy-t225955.html)

brunswickgirl 07-16-2013 02:24 PM

Should I Buy This?

3 Attachment(s)
Attached are pics of a Model 27-4 dated 1905.

it has been in the same family all this time and in a climate controlled environment. She is asking $300 for the machine and cabinet. I think that that is a little high was thinking of offering $150.00, it is a local pick up do no shipping charges.

I am asking for your advise because I am fairly new to collecting, have only bought 7 since March!!! Everytime my hubby leaves town, now that I am mostly retired, I go out to estate sales, have been having a Blast.

Anyway what do you think? I am really struggling with this because I have been looking for this machine for about a year and this is the best looking one I have found for the age. It is one that I plan to keep and use and it is the same model I learned to sew on, so I have some emotion involved that may be clouding my reality.

Thank you in advance for any input.

oneday 07-16-2013 02:57 PM

No way I'd even go $125 at $75 I'd still hum n haw

reason is someone did a hack refinish to make a sale.. I can see where they sloped finish on the hinges, so it was not taken apart to refinish, you have to guess there is loose veneer, it had shroll work on the drawer faces, I can see the impressions of those, again guessing it WAS a two or three drawer ( each side ) , they did a short cut and just cut off those drawers....

It looks like they started cleaning the head and found the gold coming off, then quite, it was very very dirty and still is... front plate is missing. looks like the shuttle is there maybe one bobbin...