Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Sigh -- why do I buy from eBay? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/sigh-why-do-i-buy-ebay-t254350.html)

iadhikari 09-25-2014 07:42 PM

Sigh -- why do I buy from eBay?

My 301s arrived this week, one yesterday and one today. I'm reminded of why I should be more skeptical about eBay. Both machines worked great according to their listings, and I can't get the hand wheels to turn all the way on either of them! I'm going to oil and add lubricant but beyond that, I'm a novice. Should I take it to my local repair guy who charges me $45 for a tune-up if oil and lubricant don't solve the issue? 😢
Ila

Nammie to 7 09-25-2014 08:07 PM

Sorry you are running into problems! I prefer not to buy online because I just don't trust what I'm going to get and many times a person doesn't have any resources to resolve the problem.

singerguy 09-25-2014 08:36 PM

In most cases, oiling it will do the trick. Let the oil sit overnight and see how it goes.

meganc731 09-25-2014 09:04 PM

Hi Ila!