Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Is this Singer Worth Saving ? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/singer-worth-saving-t236196.html)

vmaniqui 12-06-2013 12:55 PM

Is this Singer Worth Saving ?

1 Attachment(s)
hi all,

chanced upon a Singer on CL and owner is not far from me. since i am a newbie and love restoring antique machines (love bug has caught me - thanks to you guys) i just wanted to run by you and ask if this is worth saving and if the machine is worth $25? thanks again.

Rodney 12-06-2013 01:30 PM

Looks like it might be a Singer 128, I'm not 100% sure though. I think it's worth the money -at least from that picture. The bentwood case looks like it's in good condition and the decals on the body are intact. Looks like the shuttle for the bobbin is there, see if they still have the cover plates for it. My daughter's Singer 101 is missing the bobbin cover plate and it runs for $20 or more. I don't know what they would cost for yours. Other than that I'm guessing a good cleaning and oiling is most likely all it needs to run.
Looks like another bentwood case to the left of it. The seller may be selling more than one.
Rodney

miriam 12-06-2013 01:52 PM

see Glenn about that 'dust' before you do anything. Yes well worth it if it is still there.

SteveH 12-06-2013 02:25 PM

1 Attachment(s)
here is what it can look like when cleaned up
[ATTACH=CONFIG]450226[/ATTACH]

vmaniqui 12-06-2013 02:58 PM

Originally Posted by Rodney (Post 6442616)
Looks like it might be a Singer 128, see if they still have the cover plates for it. My daughter's Singer 101 is missing the bobbin cover plate and it runs for $20 or more. I don't know what they would cost for yours. Other than that I'm guessing a good cleaning and oiling is most likely all it needs to run.