Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   used machines (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/used-machines-t217113.html)

nana1234 03-23-2013 11:30 AM

used machines

I am new to trying to acquire an older (but better) machine and would like any opinions on a Kenmore 2142 for $50.00 and a Kenmore Touch & Sew zig-zag 758 for $50. This one seems to stictch very easily, I am tempted but know nothing about it's history. Is there anyone who knows anything about either one of these? I would appreciate your help.

J Miller 03-23-2013 02:22 PM

nana1234,

The older Kenmores are generally very good machines. Their model numbers will start with three numbers then a dash then more numbers. Like this: 117-812 or 158-13470 or 358-######. I don't recognize the 2142 number.

The Touch & Sew is a Singer machine, not a Kenmore and probably will have plastic gears inside. Some of their owners love them, some hate them so much they've nic named them Touch & Throws. I do not know as I've never used / owned / or worked on one.

If you are looking for an older Singer ZZ I'd suggest a 200, 300, 400, or 500 series. Many of them are all metal inside and will last till the end of the world.

Most any Kenmore with a 158 - ##### will be good as well.

Joe

miriam 03-24-2013 02:58 AM

I have seen a few T&S machines - but have only seen one or two models I liked. The 600 and the 603 seem to be decent machines as long as the bobbin winder work - you also need to have perfect bobbins - anything wrong and they don't work right. Also you have to follow the bobbin winding directions perfectly.

As far as Kenmore there are many nice old Kenmore machines - I have noticed that the reverse button tends to freeze & bobbin winder's break

auntlucy 03-24-2013 04:28 AM