Restoration Resource

Old 02-15-2021, 02:03 PM

Default Restoration Resource

I have a featherweight that needs some TLC. Does anyone know of a reliable/trustworthy person/company who does paint restoration work on featherweights?
Old 02-15-2021, 06:31 PM

Most people I know take their Featherweights to an auto-body shop for paint restoration.
Old 02-16-2021, 09:07 AM

I hope this is ok to post. I have no personal experience with this company, but gave been ogling his website for several years. Lots of beautiful machines, unique paint, hand painting, and decals. https://deskdave.com/
Old 02-16-2021, 09:39 AM

I would check with the Featherweightshop.com.
Old 02-16-2021, 02:17 PM

Be careful here. I can tell you my sad, sad story, or I can just tell you that not all auto body shops/painters are created equal.
You're smart to get referrals first.
If you can, talk to lots of happy customers.
Thanks, WIChix. I may try that route...if I decide to spend another very large chunk of cash...and if I decide I want to ship this poor little thing. I've been considering deskdave for some time, too. But that is a really, really large amount of money to spend...I still can't justify it.

My sad story
I took mine to a local, reputed auto body painter who had done hundreds of FWs. He said he no longer does them.
I was bummed, so went to another shop. the only other one in the area that would agree to do it, because I didn't want to ship my FW.
they said that they had a guy.....

actually, he did a beautiful job on the paint. he did a beautiful job on the first decal. then he decided to try to put the rest of the decals on some other way. Not good! They came out bumpy and wrinkled, but he put a clear coat on top of them anyway. Found out afterwards that he had never attempted to paint anything but fenders before.