Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Singer 237- Do you have one?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,790

    Singer 237- Do you have one?

    What would you pay for one of these in the case? I checked ebay and they want $165!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you have one, what are its best features? Worst features? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member cmrenno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    432
    I got mine for free!!! It is a very heavy machine. It will cost a lot to ship it. I am facinated by it because it can be used in a treadle cabinet. I haven't tried that with it yet. I think $165 is way too much. Keep looking,, there are wonderful deals out there. You just have to be in the right place at the right time. Be patient! Your day will come!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    389
    Blog Entries
    14
    I paid $10.00 for one. It was non working at the time, but came from some one that didn't know what he was doing. The bobbin winder was frozen and took some time and elbow grease to get it going. Works great now,.

    Mary

  4. #4
    Senior Member MrsBoats's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western Tidewater, VA
    Posts
    465
    I got mine for $25, I think, and LOVED it. They're heavy, all-metal innards, sew *very* nicely, and have a satin stitch to die for. Some of them came with motors made in France that are both rackety and wimpy, but swapping out a motor is an easy enough fix if it bothers you. I eventually swapped mine for a professional refurb of my Pfaff 130; my osmg was delighted to get it-they're his favorite machine.
    -Karen
    There's no such thing as too many sewing machines!

  5. #5
    Senior Member pinkberrykay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SOO, MI
    Posts
    825
    I just bought one for $20 in a cabinet. When I got her the machine was dirty and the motor made a funny noise. Dh and I cleaned her up and got all her parts moving. She sews like a dream and her FMQ is to die for. She came with only her bobbin so I have no accessories for her. Search Fashion Mate 237 in the search engine, I posted a thread where we talked about this machine before I purchased her. There is a lot of info on the thread.

    Name:  photo-47.JPG
Views: 1439
Size:  487.6 KBName:  photo-46.JPG
Views: 1311
Size:  595.4 KB

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    western NC
    Posts
    491
    I got mine for $15 from the local Habitat Restore. It is a good machine. Does a lovely satin stitch.

    Pat

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    362
    Blog Entries
    3
    I have this machine and it sews well. It has just been refurbished by the local sewing machine shop repair service. I would take $75.00 for it plus shipping, if anyone is interested. I will be losing money as it cost $75 for the refurbishment. I have too many machines, says DH. I haven't used it but a couple of times since its refurbishment. It would be wonderful if someone had it to love.
    Donna Quilts
    We help the wounded soldiers.

  8. #8
    Super Member purplefiend's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Round Rock,Texas
    Posts
    6,136
    I paid $20 for mine! Its a great basic machine and sews wonderfully. I treadle mine. The thingy strapped on the front is a head lamp that I use in place of the light that used to be on the machine. The motor was worn out as the former owner used stretch motor belt that was too small, it treadles very easily. The needle goes in with the flat to the right and threads left to right, takes class 15 bobbins. I love using it for FMQ.
    Sharon W.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by purplefiend; 02-13-2012 at 08:38 AM.

  9. #9
    Junior Member MrsWiggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    burlington, ky
    Posts
    104
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bought mine 46 yrs ago. Used it for 35 yrs, gave it to my dd for 10 yrs, recently got it back& need a case for it to make it portable again. Its aworkhorse machine.

  10. #10
    Super Member chris_quilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    leavenworth, ks
    Posts
    3,029
    Blog Entries
    19
    Is the belt for this machine under the machine or does it attach to the motor and machine? I have to channce to buy one and would like some more info first.
    I meant to behave......but there were too many other options

  11. #11
    Senior Member Mom3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    suburb of Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    651
    The motor is on the back and the belt runs on a pulley off the motor.

    Shari

  12. #12
    Super Member chris_quilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    leavenworth, ks
    Posts
    3,029
    Blog Entries
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Mom3 View Post
    The motor is on the back and the belt runs on a pulley off the motor.

    Shari
    Shari, Thank you so much. I appreciate this information, Chris.
    I meant to behave......but there were too many other options

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    the bobbin winder on my 237 stopped working and what I think is the tire fell out. I found lots of tires on the net but no information about how to install it - where, how, etc. any advice please.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    55
    look straight down at the top. you'll see two screws on the right, one on the left. remove those lift the top off. you'll see the winder. from there you'll know what to do..

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    612
    I got mine for cheap under 20 i think. I need to replace the motor because it is a pretty wimpy .07 Amps. Im used to machines that have Amps at 1.0 lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.