Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 03-04-2011, 05:03 AM

I am new to the older machines. I did bring home a singer treadle a few weeks ago and last night finally got up enough nerve to clean the serial number plate. I looked at the singer sn site and if I read it right I have a C series (records lost)-of course. Issued beginning 1918. The serial number on my machine is G598363 but the numbers at singer have more digits. Did I look it up right?
Old 03-04-2011, 05:12 AM

cabbagepatchkid wrote:

Check out The Treadle Lady's site: http://treadlelady.com/.
She has lots of information (I recommend the little booklet that she sells. For $8.00, it's worth every penny) about these old gals. She also has some very informative videos on her You Tube channel.

Thanks so much for this link, I ordered the book and am going to watch her videos too!

I looked at the manual and it states that there was a five year warranty, but doesn't say anywhere who made the machine. No company name in the book at all. The manual is crumbling and I think it may be missing a few pages, so I copied it so that I don't have to keep touching it.
I looked in the attachment box and found that the attachments were made by the Greist mfg co.
I found some interesting links about them at the Smithsonian. There is a manual of their attachments and how to use them here:

[url]http://www.sil.si.edu/DigitalCollections/Trade-Literature/Sewing-Machines/NMAHTEX/0215/imagepages/image1.htm[url]

And here is a booklet about machines they made, it says that they also made improved Singer machines-

[url]http://www.sil.si.edu/DigitalCollections/Trade-Literature/Sewing-Machines/NMAHTEX/2710/imagepages/image1.htm[url]