Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
White Rotary 11 - Has Anyone Disassembled This Clutch? >

White Rotary 11 - Has Anyone Disassembled This Clutch?

White Rotary 11 - Has Anyone Disassembled This Clutch?

Old 05-20-2015, 01:34 PM

Default White Rotary 11 - Has Anyone Disassembled This Clutch?

The last White I posted, a model 41, was the first White I'd seen up close. Now there is a second White to work on, a White Rotary 11. While the casting and cosmetic aspects of it are different, internally the model 11 seems mostly identical to the White Rotary 41. A picture below shows the machine.

(White Rotary 11 - Front View)
[ATTACH=CONFIG]520207[/ATTACH]

It is different in one respect. The clutch is a type that I've never worked on before. It doesn't move very well. It feels like it needs cleaning and oiling. The large screw in the middle of the knob does not want to turn. I'm thinking that it is just rusty, needing solvent and a little coaxing, but can anyone confirm that this screw is how one begins disassembly?

(White Rotary 11 - Clutch/Stop Motion)
[ATTACH=CONFIG]520208[/ATTACH]

Advice from anyone would be very much appreciated.

John
Attached Thumbnails wr11-frontview.jpg   wr11-handwheel.jpg  
Old 05-20-2015, 03:12 PM

That and a set screw should be all there is, if I am remembering correctly.
Old 05-20-2015, 05:37 PM

Thanks for getting back. Just wanted to be sure I was going about it the right way. If I can get it apart, I'll try to take some good pictures of what's inside. This seems like more of a latch than a clutch, if I understand its operation correctly.
Old 05-20-2015, 05:50 PM

yup. not a "clutch" in the traditional sense just that little lever engages in a slot in the spoked hand wheel....my lever spring is messed up if you could get a picture of that I would appreciate it.
Old 05-24-2015, 04:32 AM