Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Anyone have a Roku2?

  1. #1
    Super Member Ditter43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crystal River Florida
    Posts
    9,466
    I just bought a Roku2 and can't get it to work. My wireless router is good and my new T.V. is internet ready! Their customer service sucks!
    Can anybody help?

  2. #2
    Super Member jljack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Central CA - But otherwise, NOTW
    Posts
    8,068
    Blog Entries
    9
    What is it? What is it supposed to do?? Never heard of this thing.

  3. #3
    Super Member Ditter43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crystal River Florida
    Posts
    9,466
    It lets you stream video from your computer to your t.v.

  4. #4
    Super Member SewExtremeSeams's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Washington, playing with my fabric stash!
    Posts
    6,564
    Blog Entries
    44
    Sorry you are having problems. We have Roku... not sure but it is a year or so old. We had trouble at first and found their customer service was great. We did have to go back and forth between Netflix and Roku.. each thinking it was the other's problem. In the end, Roku sent a new device out to us free of charge. My suggestion for customer service is to call back an hour or day later and try someone else. Usually it is just the individual that isn't good. :D

  5. #5
    Super Member Jennifer22206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    4,777
    Blog Entries
    4
    my DH has one. I'll ask him as soon as he gets home.

  6. #6
    Super Member Jennifer22206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    4,777
    Blog Entries
    4
    Ditter -

    DH says: define "can't get it to work" the tv being internet ready is irrelevant. If it detects the wireless network, the setup is relatively straight forward.

    "if the tv is connected via wireless and working fine, that could be why she mentions the tv."

    so, the steps are, 'does it detect the wireless network?'

    'if yes, then does it provide a signal strength, how strong is it?'

    'if no, then what sort of network setup is it, WPA/WEP/WPA-2'

  7. #7
    Senior Member Ellen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    374
    I was going to get a Roku but I'm really confused now.
    Jennifer, would you ask DH if it matters that I have DirecTV but FiOs wireless for computer and phone?

  8. #8
    Super Member Jennifer22206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    4,777
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Ellen
    I was going to get a Roku but I'm really confused now.
    Jennifer, would you ask DH if it matters that I have DirecTV but FiOs wireless for computer and phone?
    Will do. :) He's my techie man.

  9. #9
    Super Member Jennifer22206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    4,777
    Blog Entries
    4
    Ellen - "Roku is independant of cable/internet provider. It just needs an internet connection. so, no, it doesn't matter what they have, as long as they can connect the box (via wireless router or by a ethernet cable to their cable router)"

  10. #10
    Super Member Ditter43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crystal River Florida
    Posts
    9,466
    Quote Originally Posted by Jennifer22206
    Ditter -

    DH says: define "can't get it to work" the tv being internet ready is irrelevant. If it detects the wireless network, the setup is relatively straight forward.

    "if the tv is connected via wireless and working fine, that could be why she mentions the tv."

    so, the steps are, 'does it detect the wireless network?'

    'if yes, then does it provide a signal strength, how strong is it?'

    'if no, then what sort of network setup is it, WPA/WEP/WPA-2'

    WPA/WEP/WPA-2
    I don't know what any of those things are!!!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.