Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
g'day mate new quilter from australia >

g'day mate new quilter from australia

g'day mate new quilter from australia

Old 09-23-2007, 05:49 PM

Location: other side of the black stump, Perth Western Australia

A friendly greeting from Western Australia to all fellow quilters wherever you are. I have been following your site for about 6 months and finally got the courage to join up. My computer skill are basic and I am new to quilting and have only finished one small wallhanging for a friend and am just starting a new one (for another friend). Even though I am doing more traditional quilting with applique at the moment, my true calling is leaning more towards the art quilts. I have just started discharging and am keen to dye fabrics too but finding time is the problem..there just isn't enough hours in the day to do everything i want to do! I am passionate about quilting and read whatever i can get my hands on to learn more, unfortunately my skills don't match my want to do list!!
I have 2 teenage sons (15 & 17) and i work parttime 3 days a week. My other passion is gardening and we have a 2 acre block about 1/2 hour out of Perth.
Looking forward to 'talking' to you all. :mrgreen:
Old 09-23-2007, 06:08 PM
lin

A big, big welcome to you blahel! I'm so glad you finally decided to join us. If you've put two pieces of fabric together with a middle of some kind...you're officially a quilter!!! LOL It doesn't matter that you've only begun, it'll be fun to have you here to talk about what you're doing and hopefully see some pictures of your work.

I've never tried to make an art quilt, but do admire those who have the imagination to make something totally original, be it an art quilt, a pattern for an original block, pattern, or whatever. Keep up the good work. :)
Old 09-23-2007, 06:26 PM
Power Poster