Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Hello :-)

Hi, Everyone,

I just found this forum and thought I would stop, join and say hello! :mrgreen:

I have been quilting about 3 and 1/2 years now and I am mostly self-taught. I call myself an "experienced beginner" ... as the more I learn, the more I see I need to learn. :wink:

I had made baby applique flannel quilts for my babies ... all over 20 years ago ... without a clue as to what I was doing and they loved them to pieces. Then I did no quilting for many years as they were growing.

When my youngest went to college, the nesting instinct hit again in reverse and I decided I had to make a quilt for her to take to her dorm. The two of us went on a shopping expediation to Jo-Ann's and she picked out fabric ... I did not have a plan ... and I bought a quilting magazine that had one of those "teach yourself to quilt with our easy projects" blurbs on the cover. We ended up with enough fabric for two oversize twin tops. Some of the fabric she picked was pink and gold brocade ... I hear you laughing out there :oops: ... because I did not know any better ... and cut it in 6 inch squares and sewed then together in strips and then sewed the strips together. This was one of the patterns in the magazine. With the help of the internet I did manage a pretty decent mitered striped border. :-) I quilted it in the ditch on my basic Brother machine without realizing that it had come with a walking foot tucked into the packing at the bottom. I hear you laughing again ... but that is okay ... I believe that she who can laugh at herself will never cease to be amused. :lol: Everytime she brings that quilt home to be washed, I have to handsew closed a pretty brocade seam that has frayed. Live and Learn.