Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 4" quilt squares

Hello everybody,
    I want to start a new quilt and I want your advice. I have hundreds, probably thousands, of 4" squares. I want to make a quilt using as many of them as possible. I thought about cutting them into triangles and sewing them together. Do you have any other ideas? Im not an expert quilter. I have lots to learn. I've made lots quilts that are basically squares sewn together. I want to do something more difficult but not too hard. I would appreciate any suggestions.
    Judy

Blog Entries
    You could do a square in a square, use one 4" block for the center, cut 2 4"blocks diagonally and stitch them to each side of the block. This can also be done paper pieced.
    You could cut some of the blocks in half and piece them together for a striped border.

If you have that many you could make a one patch charm quilt. I'm collecting squares to one day do this. :lol: one day is probably a long way off but whose counting. In a traditional charm quilt 1000 different pieces were used no two the same, but no one has to stick to rules. some ideas for a one patch could be Pyrimids or Tumbler are reasonably simple to piece, Dutch Tile is another nice one also Kite. Apple Core is a really nice one but is a bit trickier as it is a curved one patch. Hope that's some help :D
    Here is a link to templates for one patch charm quilts
    http://qnm.com/articles/feature15patt/

shelly what size are you saving for your charm quilt, maybe i can help you with another swap ? :) :-) :D Esther

Quote Originally Posted by judy_68
    Hello everybody,