Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Could I Make a Rag Quilt of Scrubs Squares and Flannel Squares? >

Could I Make a Rag Quilt of Scrubs Squares and Flannel Squares?

Could I Make a Rag Quilt of Scrubs Squares and Flannel Squares?

Old 09-06-2013, 11:27 AM

Default Could I Make a Rag Quilt of Scrubs Squares and Flannel Squares?

I've been searching online for flannel quilt patterns and rag quilt patterns but they all seem to use two layers of flannel and a layer of batting.

I have a bunch of old scrubs (nursing/doctor clothing) here and I thought I could just cut them into squares and cut flannel into matching squares and make a rag quilt without the batting. What do you think?

I thought of fleece too, but I think that would be too hard to sew evenly because it stretches so much.

I'm looking for something really simple to teach my DIL to sew, and want to make a simple quilt that won't cost much. I'm fairly new to quilting myself, and don't know how willing to learn she is (she seems pretty resistant to most things I share).
Old 09-06-2013, 11:29 AM
Power Poster

why not, it's your quilt, do as you please. there's no quilt police here. you never know till you try it. show us your finished project.
Old 09-06-2013, 12:12 PM

I know I can do whatever I want. I'm wondering if it will sew together well, wash well, etc.
Old 09-06-2013, 12:45 PM

I've seen great quilts made of scrubs. Scrub tops have great novelty prints, so they are fun to use.

I've also seen rag quilts with cotton on one side and flannel on the other. They seem to work out just fine.
Old 09-06-2013, 12:54 PM

I guess I didn't word my question very well. I want to make the quilt using just the scrubs and flannel without any batting. All the patterns I've seen use batting, so I'm wondering if it will be a stable quilt without the batting?
Thanks!
Old 09-06-2013, 01:16 PM