Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Accuquilt Studio Machine

  1. #1
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,490
    Some seem to have been told that we cannot use the GO dies in the Studio. THIS IS AN UNTRUTH! I just used my 3 1/2 inch strip in it by taking my adapter pad from my Big shot Westminster and even the tray since I have not yet received the studio one and added another piece of plyboard put the die in, fabric, than two pads on top and it worked.

    You don't have to go to the extreme that I did and only did so until my tray comes in for Studio for strips.

    Anyway any die cutting machine can be fixed to be used. for instance I have used .45 thick chipboard in my other machines that needed a lift to use other dies in the Big Shot such as the Go dies.

    Haven't looked to see if Accuquilt has an adapter pad for the studio to use the Go dies in it but one can be creative and create there own adapter pad. Simply go to a place like Lowes and get 2 or 3 different thickness boards cut to fit your tray and use as a lift in your machine to be able to use all sorts of dies for your machine.

    I've used the chipboard in my Big Kick, Westminister and now the Studio to use dies from other companies in these machines. For the Studio I will go and get couple boards or so of various thicknesses so I can use any die in it.

  2. #2
    Super Member craftiladi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ut.
    Posts
    2,189
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the information, I have been seating on the fence about getting a Accuquilt System. One of those " I sure would like to have" but do I really need it and would I use it?

  3. #3
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,099
    Blog Entries
    2
    You can get the adaptor from their sister site, Accucraft.
    If you do appliqué, and have a Studio, check out the Accucraft side for shapes and sign up for their mailing list. They run different (and better) sales.

    I think the confusion comes from the reverse info, that you can't use a studio die in a Go.

  4. #4
    Power Poster Lacelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12,327
    Blog Entries
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by clsurz
    Some seem to have been told that we cannot use the GO dies in the Studio. THIS IS AN UNTRUTH! I just used my 3 1/2 inch strip in it by taking my adapter pad from my Big shot Westminster and even the tray since I have not yet received the studio one and added another piece of plyboard put the die in, fabric, than two pads on top and it worked.

    You don't have to go to the extreme that I did and only did so until my tray comes in for Studio for strips.

    Anyway any die cutting machine can be fixed to be used. for instance I have used .45 thick chipboard in my other machines that needed a lift to use other dies in the Big Shot such as the Go dies.

    Haven't looked to see if Accuquilt has an adapter pad for the studio to use the Go dies in it but one can be creative and create there own adapter pad. Simply go to a place like Lowes and get 2 or 3 different thickness boards cut to fit your tray and use as a lift in your machine to be able to use all sorts of dies for your machine.

    I've used the chipboard in my Big Kick, Westminister and now the Studio to use dies from other companies in these machines. For the Studio I will go and get couple boards or so of various thicknesses so I can use any die in it.
    If you have the Westminster pro, I am wondering why you need the studio. I am about to order the Westminster, as I understand it will just about do any other die. I saw a Youtube film this morning where a lady used a Go die in that.

  5. #5
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,481
    I have the Studio and know about the ability to use an adaptor. But, I have never had the need....most of the dies are made for both the Go and the Studio, with the Studio dies having a life time guarantee. By using Go dies in the Studio system, you're still limiting the amount of layers you can cut though, as the Go dies aren't as sturdy. And since I've paid the big bucks to cut 10-12 layers in the Studio...why would I want to use Go dies? Just some of my thoughts...

  6. #6
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,490
    [quote=LaceladyIf you have the Westminster pro, I am wondering why you need the studio. I am about to order the Westminster, as I understand it will just about do any other die. I saw a Youtube film this morning where a lady used a Go die in that.[/quote]

    Because the Westminster won't allow use of the Studio dies that are large, jumbo/giant. The depth of the Westminster is less than the Studio which won't allow those dies and also the Studio is wider than the Westminster.

    Realize that if you get the Westminister that even though it will use all other dies from other brands that fit the size of the machine YOU STILL HAVE to have adapters or risers for some of the dies to use it.

    I use alot of different dies in the Westminster however the depth of the tray is to deep for some of the dies and an adapter pad and sometimes extra padding like the chipboard I sometimes have to use to raise the die so it will roll through.

  7. #7
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,490
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    You can get the adaptor from their sister site, Accucraft.
    If you do appliqué, and have a Studio, check out the Accucraft side for shapes and sign up for their mailing list. They run different (and better) sales.

    I think the confusion comes from the reverse info, that you can't use a studio die in a Go.
    Yes I have been at that site as well as the AccuCut one and have signed up for there mailing list.

  8. #8
    Super Member tuesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Home!.. Why? Where are you?
    Posts
    2,260
    I myself purchased the Westminster, mainly because I can use whatever die I want in it and it doesn't cost me a fortune.

    I did want the Studio when it was way up there in price, but that alone stopped me and then looking at the dies ...well I just couldn't do it.

    I'm happy with the Westminster, even though I may not be able to do those giant ones..

  9. #9
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,490
    Each machine no matter which we choose all have its own uses and good machines.

    It all depends on what we want to do when die cutting and how much we are willing to or can invest in such.

    Studio stopped me because of price as well and was only able to purchase it recently because of the awesome price on it.

    There is some type of die cutter out there for everyone based on there needs and wants.

  10. #10
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,490
    Each machine no matter which we choose all have its own uses and good machines.

    It all depends on what we want to do when die cutting and how much we are willing to or can invest in such.

    Studio stopped me because of price as well and was only able to purchase it recently because of the awesome price on it.

    There is some type of die cutter out there for everyone based on there needs and wants.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.