Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Am I supposed to tip my longarmer?

I picked up a quilt from the longarmer yesterday. I paid her what she asked, but when I got home I wondered if it is customary to tip the quilter. I'm new at this and so I don't know the answer. What do you do?

I can't imagine why you would. No one tips me when they pay for my dressmaking services. ;)

No I don't believe you do, the charge should include everything.

Usually, no.

Here's the 'but...'

When I was using a LAer (before I became one myself), I felt she charged way, way, way too little. These machines are expensive, you don't just get one and be good without lots of practice, expenses, thread, etc. I usually added more because she did much more than a basic quilting for a basic quilting price. She also quilted my donation quilts as a co-donor for local raffles. Now that I've been doing this for a while, I can tell you that she was still seriously underpaid, even when I added extra.

I can tell you from other boards that the tips are celebrated because they are few and far between. I, for one, am thrilled when people grab a bunch of my cards because they want to tell their friends. Referrals are GOLD!! Tears and hugs also make my day. If you enter the quilt in a show, make sure to give her credit for the quilting, and if two ribbons aren't awarded (some shows give one for the piecer and one for the quilter), a picture of you with the quilt and ribbon for her wall is great, too.

Thanks. Good advice.