Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Another Opinion/Help Question >

Another Opinion/Help Question

Another Opinion/Help Question

Old 10-30-2014, 06:30 AM

Default Another Opinion/Help Question

I am a beginner quilter. I started a quilt last year but tore apart the squares - twice - but I could not get the size consistent. I am thinking of just tossing out the fabric and starting over. Has anyone one that? Or should I give piecing the blocks another shot? Part of the problem may be in how I cut some of the pieces. I have made a few other quilts since so I hope I am getting better at this.
Old 10-30-2014, 06:35 AM

Yes, I have tossed or cut smaller blocks that don't work. I have even donated fabric that I can't stand anymore and have no idea what I was thinking to purchase it. I think in the beginning (and even now) it's important for me to choose blocks that can be squared to even sizes. D9P or even string blocks work great for that. How you cut them makes a huge difference. I often square up smaller blocks before I sew them into the final block. Especially with half square triangles or other blocks that are sewn on the diagonal. Good luck and keep practicing.
Old 10-30-2014, 06:39 AM
Power Poster

I wish you had posted a picture. It is important to check out all your squares pieces to make sure they are all the same size before sewing them together. Don't press your fabric after you have cut the squares. That can affect the size of your squares to become wonky. As long as your cutting is accurate and your seam allowance is consistent, it should come together fine. You can always finish the top the best you can do and donate it to a charity. Someone will appreciate it.
Old 10-30-2014, 06:59 AM

How you cut the pieces, makes all the difference in the world. You also need to make sure your seams are consistent. It doesn't matter so much what exact size your seams are, as long as they're all the SAME.
Old 10-30-2014, 07:04 AM
Power Poster

Three things to check: