Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Anyone ever started cutting for one pattern... >

Anyone ever started cutting for one pattern...

Anyone ever started cutting for one pattern...

Old 01-05-2016, 05:05 AM

Default Anyone ever started cutting for one pattern...

...then ended up deciding to do another pattern and having to figure out how to get the cuts out of the already cut pieces?

Can you tell I'm new at this?

Watson
Old 01-05-2016, 05:14 AM

No because I get bored doing one single task for a long period of time therefore it prevents me from cutting a lot at a time... and because of that same reason, I'm afraid I will get bored sewing the same pattern over and over again. I usually combine different patterns in a quilt...

what you did is learning what will be your comfort zone for future quilts... some call it "experience" I guess next time you will put a photo of the planned quilt your are cutting fabrics for... and some notes to help you "remember"

welcome in to the "getting experienced quilters" club
Old 01-05-2016, 05:23 AM

Not that I can remember, but when I know I have to cut the same shapes over and over I will cut a few, sew a few, back to cut ...breaks the monotony and seeing the block/design take shape as I'm working is sort of an incentive to go on. However, by the time I'm putting on that final border....I'm really anxious to get that project out of my face and on to something else....ok, so why do I have UFOs? Mystery!
Old 01-05-2016, 05:28 AM

Yup bin there done that. I've also cut everything and had to lay it aside for a while and then forgotten exactly what I was planning to do with the pieces. Now I make much better notes, take photos and keep everything (including extra fabric) together in a tote, if I am not going to do the project right away.
Old 01-05-2016, 05:42 AM

Originally Posted by GingerK View Post