Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Anyone use Tracing in your EQ?

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,074
    Blog Entries
    48

    Anyone use Tracing in your EQ?

    I am wanting to do a lesson on tracing a picture for a quilt block in EQ. I am having trouble understanding it from the manual. And I have all 3 manuals but they aren't much help!

    If anyone has any experience with this I would greatly appreciate a sounding board to get this process figured out so I can post it as a lesson.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Handcraftsbyjen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    823
    I will be watching for answers.

  3. #3
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,074
    Blog Entries
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by Handcraftsbyjen View Post
    I will be watching for answers.
    well I am hoping some of our more experienced quilters will have some answers. If not I plan to call the co and see if they can walk me through some of my questions. But I thought I would start here first.

  4. #4
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,643
    Blog Entries
    1
    I've done a couple of tracings, maybe I can help?

  5. #5
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,074
    Blog Entries
    48
    Well I 'm not even sure how to get started. The manual just jumps in and tells how to manipulate the picture but not how to get the picture to work with. I wanted to use a quilt block already in the EQ library

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,650
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have done tracing a few times, but only importing pictures I have saved in a file. When I use the blocks in EQ, I use Easy Draw and make changes there. Are you trying to make a block using an existing block and incorporating a picture into that block? The picture has to be saved to a file (jpeg etc.) first on your computer. Then the picture is imported into the workspace/block, saving it to the sketchbook or it won't be able to be brought up again to work on. You can then trace the picture to create blocks. But, perhaps you are trying to do something else? I am very new to this and am slowly working my way through EQ. I have emailed EQ and they are quick to response; I am thrilled with their service. Anyway, this is the little bit I have figured out, and there may be steps I miss or faster ways to do things, so I will be watching this post too.
    Last edited by NanaCsews2; 03-05-2012 at 09:08 PM.

  7. #7
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,643
    Blog Entries
    1
    I've only worked with photos, but I think you could export the block image as a jpg, then import it back in for tracing purposes.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,650
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you are trying to get a quilt block on the tracing workspace, here is how I did it. Have block workspace open to tracing tab. Open Block, New Block, Easy Draw. Go to Block Library, click on desire block. Add to Sketchbook. Close. Open sketchbook. Click on Block, then Edit. Block will appear on Easy Draw. Then go to top tabs-File, Export Image, and a window comes up to name that block, and will be saved into 'MY EQ7", under Images. Be sure to name the block, then Save. A window comes up asking what size block you want it exported as. Change if needed, then press Ok. Go to the Tracing Image workspace, right click and click on Import Image. Screen comes up with My EQ7 files. Under Images, click on the block you named. A crop image window comes up. Press OK if you don't want to make any changes to image (size, etc.). Then on the Tracing Image space, you will see the curser changes to allow you click where you want to put the block. Double click and block appears for tracing. Does this make sense and what you were looking for?

  9. #9
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,074
    Blog Entries
    48
    So if I understand this right to use a block from the library I have to save it to my pc and then retrieve it from there to use to trace it. I understand all the steps you used. I just wasn't sure how to get a block from the library to the tracing worktable.

    I saw somewhere where they had used a simple flower to show how to use patchdraw to trace to make patches to make templates for applique.

    I am so confused when it comes to the differant layers. I really need to do more playing with it to make sense of the differant sections in this part.

    Did you use the tracing to make applique templates?

  10. #10
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,074
    Blog Entries
    48
    thanks for your help ladies. I am going to work on this some more. I want to be sure I understand it enough to explain it for the quilters. I knew there were things I would run into that I didn't understand yet! I continue to say I am no expert on the EQ when I post the lessons. But if I can put this together so someone can understand what I am learning then it is all good.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.