Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Avante QUilting machine opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    401

    Red face Avante QUilting machine opinions

    I am almost convinced I need to sell my beloved Bailey and trade up for an Avante. I would appreciate any comments, likes and dislikes from members who own one. I joined the Yahoo group and have read reviews on other sites, but the more information I get will help me make the final decision. it is quite an investment so I want to be 100% sure. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,638
    I like the HQ Avante and almost bought its bigger version the Fusion. Also if you are looking at adding a computer system it is one of the more affordable ways to go. Try and test it and see if you like it.
    Anna Quilts

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    110
    I've had my Avante for about a year and have had so much fun with it that my girlfriend bought the same set-up last week. Zero issues. I use every type of thread from metallic embroidery to industrial cones found at Goodwill for 99 cents. In my local long arm group those with Innova or Gammill are always having issues and schedule regular checkups with a traveling tech. This is my second Handiquilter (upgraded for the computer capabilities). I bought the first one used and it's now with its third owner. Never needed servicing - just a drop of oil with every bobbin change.

  4. #4
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,367
    I have the Babylock Crown Jewel which is the same machine as the Avente and I love it.

  5. #5
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    8,503
    I bought a used Avante a couple years ago and have never had a problem. Using the Superior Thread chart for tension guidance, I've been able to run any thread i want through it. Like another poster said, a drop of oil every other bobbin, dust the tracks, and you're good to go.
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kentucky & Florida Winter
    Posts
    68
    I have been thanking of buying a bailey machine. What is your problem with it?I had though I might get the 17 inch one. What size is yours? If you deside to get new one will you be selling the bailey?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    401
    Butterfly, there is nothing at all wrong with my Bailey. I have the 17" and she is a workhorse. I truly love her, but have saved for an upgrade and so I am going to do that. One of the main reasons is the sew control is not as precise as I would like it. Yes, I will be selling her.

  8. #8
    Senior Member cmw0829's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA area
    Posts
    953
    My dream machine was an Innova but I came across a used Avante at a super price. I haven't been disappointed in the least and have so far quilted a half dozen quilts since April. It's super easy to use and has been very tolerant of a newbie.

    My only "complaint" is that leveling was a pain because the table is set up as 10' - in three sections - and I felt that made it more complicated. But that was a one time effort - until my wood floors swelled with the humidity. But I'd probably have that problem with any table.

    Go for it, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    701
    My quilting friend has the HQ Avante. She has had it for about 2 years now and has had no troubles with it. She quilts for herself and has done several for others also --so she has used it quite abit already. I own a APQS and for the same price, you might want to look at the APQS Lenni. I have had my APQS Freedom for about 2 years now and have had no problems with it. My 2nd choice was teh HQ Fusion but decided to go with the APQS because it just "felt" better to me when I used it.

  10. #10
    Super Member watson's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maidstone, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    2,252
    I bought the Avante 18 in April and I LOVE it. It's so smooth to operate and easy to boot. Their customer support is wonderful and available at all times. HQ has so many you-tube video tutorials it's like having an instructor in your quilting room with you. For the first time ever my free motion actually looks like free motion, nice round curves and no cross-over lines. Be sure to look up Jamie Wallen tutorials for longarmers, they have so much common sense info especially for beginners. Good luck with whatever you buy.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.