Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Batting for hand quilting >
  • Batting for hand quilting

• Batting for hand quilting

Old 02-04-2011, 07:51 AM

Good morning all. I'm new to hand quilting and have been practicing very hard. Just getting ready to hand quilt my first quilt. But I am not sure what is the best batting to use. Its a civil war quilt so I think I'd like it to be low loft. Any suggestions?Wool, silk, cotton??????? Thanks in advance!!!
    Old 02-04-2011, 08:04 AM
    Cyn

I think the best stuff I have found is thermore but I have thrown out the package so I'm not sure this is the name. It comes in a silver bag. Maybe someone here knows what it is called. It's thin and can be quilted 10-12 inches apart according to the package.
    Old 02-04-2011, 08:08 AM

Quilter's Dream Request weight. Quilts like butter, very thin and very flat.
    Old 02-04-2011, 08:12 AM

Originally Posted by Cyn
    I think the best stuff I have found is thermore but I have thrown out the package so I'm not sure this is the name. It comes in a silver bag. Maybe someone here knows what it is called. It's thin and can be quilted 10-12 inches apart according to the package.
    Thermore is by Hobbs. Usually available at Hobby Lobby. I've heard that wool is very nice. Unfortunately, I'm not a hand quilter. I don't sit still very well. I worship hand quilters! :thumbup: :D
    Old 02-04-2011, 08:14 AM

I hand quilt and use Warm & Natural. I've not had a problem quilting it at all. I have found some betweens that are a dream to quilt with. John James Gold n Glide. They are awesome!!!!! Awesome!!!! Best of all you can get them with the big eyes, for us that are eye challenged. :-D
    Old 02-04-2011, 08:21 AM

Originally Posted by sewcrafty
    .......Best of all you can get them{john James needles} with the big eyes, for us that are eye challenged. :-D

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

that's funny, because that's exactly why i get those, too!!