Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Best way to get large yardage to cut straight

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    206

    Best way to get large yardage to cut straight

    I have washed, dried and ironed my 6 yards of fabric. I know that you are supposed to hold/fold the fabric salvege to salvege and slide the salveges until no wrinkles show on the fold. I can do this in 1 yard increments somewhat without getting "bendy" strips when I need to cut accross width of fabric. I do run into problems when yardage goes beyond my initial 1 yard (or less) cut plane. Should I just cut up my yardage into 1 yard increments, or struggle with the remainder in order to keep the yardage on the straight-of grain? This has bothered me for years! Looking forward to the talented and wise advice from this board.

  2. #2
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,143
    I can usually manage 1 to 1.5 yds max. However, in order to maximize my fabric
    usage, I plan how many squares and strips I will need. Make a little diagram and
    see how many strips/squares fit in one yard. Then I can adjust a little more or a
    little less. I always add one or two inches for safety. Does this makes sense?

  3. #3
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,827
    Blog Entries
    1
    I also cut my yardage down to make it more manageable. Usually a yard; sometimes 1-1/2 yards.

  4. #4
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,670
    Blog Entries
    2
    I always cut my yardage into half yards to sub cut. I have better control and can keep the fabric perfectly aligned. When I use my Go to cut strips I use a yard of fabric at a time.
    Got fabric?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    344
    I always cut large amounts down to manageable pieces. I find that anything more than 1.5 yards is too hard to handle and make sure it straight on the grain when I cut.
    -Chris-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Blessed are the children of quilters, for they shall inherit the quilts....

    It does not do well, Harry, to dwell on the dreams....and forget to live. - Albus Dumbledore

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mechanicsville, IA
    Posts
    1,409
    Quote Originally Posted by EasyPeezy View Post
    I can usually manage 1 to 1.5 yds max. However, in order to maximize my fabric
    usage, I plan how many squares and strips I will need. Make a little diagram and
    see how many strips/squares fit in one yard. Then I can adjust a little more or a
    little less. I always add one or two inches for safety. Does this makes sense?
    This is our method also. I say OUR because DH and I do most of the cutting together. He runs the rotary cutter.
    Cheryl Robinson
    http://www.silverneedlestitching.com
    APQS Millenium Longarm with Intelliquilter

  7. #7
    Senior Member petthefabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Eastern Madera County, Ca
    Posts
    826
    I wouldn't want to have cut it into 1 yd pieces only to find that I need borders 1 1/2 yard long. And I like to cut binding the length of fabric with the fewest joins possible. Therefore, I leave it in 1 large piece. When folding, I put the selvages together every 1/2 - 3/4 yd & keep holding the previous segment in one hand, the fabric folds accordian style. When I'm all the way through the yardage, I hold it up and let it drop into a fold at the other side. Then I gently lay it down and pick it up again along the fold about every 1/2-3/4 yard. While holding the total yardage this way, I shake it so the grain will straighten out. Then lay it down again and either fold it accordian style or in half, then in half, again and again until its the size I want to store.

  8. #8
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    3,992
    Blog Entries
    1
    Surely if you are planning kaleidoscope quilts you can't cut down .how would it be to use the clips or clamps to hold in place or just fold in half and rinse dry before using again. I would not be in favour of cutting in case I need a longer length.
    Finished is better than a UFO

  9. #9
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    33,333
    Blog Entries
    16
    i keep my yardage long. i do it the same as petthefabric. if my queen quilt needs borders, i want to be able to cut them LOF in one piece.
    Nancy in western NY

  10. #10
    Junior Member Suzette316's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    220
    Since I too like my borders (and sashing, when applicable) cut as one whole strip rather than pieceing them, I usually take large cuts of fabric and cut them down into 2 yard pieces. This way, it's manageable to fold, but if I want a long cut from them, I have plenty of fabric to do so. The way I line up the selvedge and fan-fold is the same as PetTheFabric.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.