Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Binding twisting on me? >

Binding twisting on me?

Binding twisting on me?

Old 07-01-2010, 08:33 AM

I'm a newbie and have allot to learn. I would like to learn why my binding is twisting on me. I'm adding the binding on my second quilt. It's twisting on me. It's not flat. I cut the binding on the bias, machine sewed it on the front. Now I'm hand sewing using the ladder stitch on the back.

I hope it's a simple as I'm not lining up the stitches so I'm pulling it to the left.

I attached a picture.
Attached Thumbnails attachment-84477.jpe  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:35 AM

Bias binding has a tendency to do this. I only use bias when I want a dif look or have curves. Your binding needs more fullness also.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:43 AM

yes I think it's mostly that the binding is not filled with the quilt, when you sew to the front then turn to the back it should be pulled as far as it will easily go, if all goes well it just covers your machine stitches and the binding is nice and full of quilt.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:47 AM

Franie, Fullness as in width? The binding is on the skinny side. I have a book that said to cut the strips 2" wide, so I did. Next time it will be 2 1/2" wide.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:51 AM
Power Poster

Fullness as in stretching the binding as you fold it over so that it doesn't have empty spots without the quilt sandwich being completely in it.
Making your binding a 1/2" wider would not change anything, it just makes your binding wider.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:52 AM

I see, I was folding over the binding and hand sewing just passed the machine stitches. My batting is thin so I should fold it over more so the batting fills the binding.
I assume the ideal binding should be consistent width and full.
Old 07-01-2010, 09:32 AM

No, not in width of binding. Just pull your binding to the back tighter so it fills in.

Originally Posted by bertadel