Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Bobbin winding problems - UPDATE

  1. #1
    Super Member lfw045's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rustburg, VA (for the moment anyway)
    Posts
    1,698
    I'm just sick.........my Singer 1030 won't wind a bobbin........it winds it underneath the bobbin itself. I ran out of bobbin stitching around the foot warmer I am making for my father before sewing on the binding........

    I had bought new bobbins because I thought maybe my old bobbins were wearing out finally.........but it is happening with those too?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Linda D.

  2. #2
    Moderator tlrnhi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    In the middle of a mess...
    Posts
    19,786
    I don't know if your bobbins are wound internally or externally with your machine. If it's externally, meaning outside the machine, maybe the bobbin isn't pushed down far enough. Sometimes that happens to me.
    I did solve the problem, I now have a Sidewinder Bobbin Winder. Makes it easier to wind the bobbins. I don't have to take thread apart to wind.

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    My machine will do this sometimes, I found that it had to do with how the thread was being fed to the bobbin/bobbin winder. I have to use nets on my spools of thread to keep this from happening.

  4. #4
    Super Member lfw045's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Rustburg, VA (for the moment anyway)
    Posts
    1,698
    Thank you ladies for your responses! I realized the only thing I had not done was put a new needle in it and try again. I did this........plus my machine has cams for special stitches and a lever where you can choose certain stitches that are built in, so I engaged the lever and scrolled through all the stitches and brought it back to the straight stitch setting and wala!!!!!!!!! I rethreaded the machine and it wound the bobbin with no problems.........WHEWWWWWWWWW :wink: Glad that's over........and I said a quick thank you to God! :D

    Linda D.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Donna Mae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    100 miles South of Orlando, FL
    Posts
    237
    this happens to me. I've found out I had not threaded through that little dohickey that has like two discs on it, then run the thread to the bobbin.
    bring your thread upwards through the hole in the bobbin. Yea, make sure its pushed down good and slide over where it goes. I think your book to your machine might be more clear them me!!!

    Good luck,

    Simple quilter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.