Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bobbin winding problems - UPDATE >

Bobbin winding problems - UPDATE

Bobbin winding problems - UPDATE

Old 05-29-2008, 03:54 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
lfw045's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hopewell, VA (for the moment anyway)
Posts: 1,692
Default

I'm just sick.........my Singer 1030 won't wind a bobbin........it winds it underneath the bobbin itself. I ran out of bobbin stitching around the foot warmer I am making for my father before sewing on the binding........

I had bought new bobbins because I thought maybe my old bobbins were wearing out finally.........but it is happening with those too?

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Linda D.
lfw045 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 03:58 AM
  #2  
Moderator
 
tlrnhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the middle of a mess...
Posts: 19,916
Default

I don't know if your bobbins are wound internally or externally with your machine. If it's externally, meaning outside the machine, maybe the bobbin isn't pushed down far enough. Sometimes that happens to me.
I did solve the problem, I now have a Sidewinder Bobbin Winder. Makes it easier to wind the bobbins. I don't have to take thread apart to wind.
tlrnhi is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 06:39 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

My machine will do this sometimes, I found that it had to do with how the thread was being fed to the bobbin/bobbin winder. I have to use nets on my spools of thread to keep this from happening.
amma is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:56 AM
  #4  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
lfw045's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hopewell, VA (for the moment anyway)
Posts: 1,692
Default

Thank you ladies for your responses! I realized the only thing I had not done was put a new needle in it and try again. I did this........plus my machine has cams for special stitches and a lever where you can choose certain stitches that are built in, so I engaged the lever and scrolled through all the stitches and brought it back to the straight stitch setting and wala!!!!!!!!! I rethreaded the machine and it wound the bobbin with no problems.........WHEWWWWWWWWW :wink: Glad that's over........and I said a quick thank you to God! :D

Linda D.
lfw045 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 12:45 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Donna Mae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 100 miles South of Orlando, FL
Posts: 247
Default

this happens to me. I've found out I had not threaded through that little dohickey that has like two discs on it, then run the thread to the bobbin.
bring your thread upwards through the hole in the bobbin. Yea, make sure its pushed down good and slide over where it goes. I think your book to your machine might be more clear them me!!!

Good luck,

Simple quilter
Donna Mae is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
NJ Quilter
Main
8
06-02-2011 05:10 AM
dreamer2009
Main
6
03-19-2011 11:20 AM
alderdweller
Main
4
03-09-2011 07:22 PM
PghPat
Main
6
08-01-2010 09:40 PM
Donna Mae
Main
5
12-28-2007 07:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.