Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Borders On Quilts >

Borders On Quilts

Borders On Quilts

Old 09-02-2011, 02:32 PM

Ok.. you can only read this if you promise not to yell at me... :oops:

So... the quilts that I have made with borders.. I am guessing I have done them all wrong. I measure the width I want, and cut the length longer than what I need.. sew it on and trim it even. I normally put the sides on first, than the top and bottom. I am beginning to think (from reading the Board.. keep in mind, I am totally self taught) that this is BAD :thumbdown:

So... is the way I am doing it really THAT bad? Will it make it difficult to be quilted on a LA? I have read about the measuring down or across the center.. and then pinning at both ends and easing the fabric for a good fit? Is this a "do this or it will be REALLY wrong" thing?

Thanks for the comments in advance. :)
Old 09-02-2011, 02:34 PM

You are doing fine.
Old 09-02-2011, 02:39 PM

Okaaaay...good news is that what you have been doing is not 'terrible'. The reason that a person should measure the width or length thru the center of the quilt top, is that sometimes the edges can stretch, that's all. And if those edges have stretched, then the borders will actually be longer than the center of the quilt. When it has been quilted, bound and put on a bed, it could look like a skirt that has been 'sat out'.

So, long story short, measuring thru the center of the quilt top helps to keep the width and length even along the whole sides.
Old 09-02-2011, 02:45 PM

But if you measure and cut the border for the sides, then you can't do those easy corners with the miter, is that right?
Old 09-02-2011, 02:48 PM

If it makes you feel any better, that's how I attached the borders of the first quilt I made. Everything turned out fine, tho some "beginner's luck" may have been involved.