Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Cathedral window pattern for a jacket? >

Cathedral window pattern for a jacket?

Cathedral window pattern for a jacket?

Old 03-14-2011, 01:48 PM

Has anyone seen or made a jacket using the cathedral window pattern? My MIL saw someone wearing such a jacket and has dreamed of having one of her own ever since. I'm very new at quilting, although my MIL did teach me how to hand sew cathedral windows back in the early 80's (I admit that I never completed the pillow that I started). If there is a pattern for making such a jacket, I thought you folks might point me in the right direction -- thanks in advance!
Old 03-14-2011, 01:51 PM

Location: My favorite place in the world is Lake Erie Region USA

Ok, I am so glad there is a catagory "mini" quilt. I quit my 4 inch folded to 2 in cathedral window "mini" quilt( my avitar)
It is beautiful! and labor intensive... I can not imagine cutting the quilt for a jacket.
I would love to see it when you do this ! and .. it will be worth a million !
Old 03-14-2011, 02:17 PM

Let me check and see if I have it. Hope I can remember where I put my pattern book.
Old 03-14-2011, 02:26 PM
Power Poster

I would not attempt this without some garment construction experience, I would look for a commercial pattern for a boxy jacket, like this one:
http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m582...hp?page_id=115