Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
The cost of someone else doing the quilting? >

The cost of someone else doing the quilting?

The cost of someone else doing the quilting?

Old 09-01-2011, 09:29 AM

Just a simple question. How much does it cost to have someone quilt your quilt for you? i Ask because I put together a queen quilt, (a boston common) and I was told that it would coust me around $200 to quilt. I thought, gees, I only paid around $30 - $40 for material. I can do baby quilts and lap quilts on my sewing machine. Is that true for most quilters or some? My quilt is 90" x 120".
Old 09-01-2011, 09:31 AM

That $200 is probably close...it depends on the quilting. I am not a professional long armer, but there are many discussions on here regarding this. Do SEARCH above and put in Long Arm Quilting and you'll find them. They charge by the square inch depending on the type of quilting you want.
Old 09-01-2011, 09:31 AM

Seems a little high, talk to some of the long arm quilters on the board. It depends on the size. My last over sized twin cost $100, but she is local, right down the street.
Old 09-01-2011, 09:32 AM

Hi and welcome to the board from Iowa. Each quilter charges differently so check around.
Old 09-01-2011, 09:35 AM

I had a quilt done for me by a LQ, the quilt was 111" x 111". The LA charge was $200.00 but that included the batting This was two years ago, the price may be higher now. She did a beautiful job.
Old 09-01-2011, 10:10 AM

For my most popular overall patterns, I would charge $165 for that size quilt. That does not include batting, backing, thread or tax, so $200 is not out of line.