Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Cotton, Wool, Silk, or Bamboo Batting (for hot folks!) >

Cotton, Wool, Silk, or Bamboo Batting (for hot folks!)

Cotton, Wool, Silk, or Bamboo Batting (for hot folks!)

Old 05-29-2014, 02:41 AM

Default Cotton, Wool, Silk, or Bamboo Batting (for hot folks!)

I'm finally making a quilt for ME thru my LQS Kansas Trouble Sweet Pea BOM. It's a square king sized and I'm trying to decide on batting. I'm still a beginner; this is the first time batting has ever really mattered to me, and it will probably be the 1st quilt I ever send off to be professionally quilted (will be used for my personal bedspread), since I have a domestic machine and my quilting skills thus far have been stitch-in-the-ditch, straight, diagonal lap quilts and baby quilts - nothing fancy.

THIS quilt is special - it's made by me, I love the fabric and design, and will be in our bedroom, used and on our bed. I want this quilt to look and feel nice! I'm even making matching drapes and balances.

We live in western Washington so it's cool year-round (doesn't ever really get to hot or too cold). But my husband and I are rather hot - if you know what I mean! I'm going through that season in life with night sweats; hubby prefers something light weight - he can't stand heavy blankets. So I'm looking at and comparing natural, breathable, light-weight batting.

But the more I research, the more confused I get. Should I go with 100% Cotton? Bamboo? Silk? Wool (which to me SOUNDS way too hot & heavy). Or a blend of some of these materials? Some of the silks and cottons I see contain 20% poly - should I stay clear of those (I assume the poly makes it less breathable and more lofty?).